RSS

Philadelphia-Style Vanilla Ice Cream

18 Oct

 

Source: Williams-Sonoma Frozen Desserts p. 66

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup whole milk

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tbs vanilla extract

Instructions:  stir together the milk and cream first, then mix in
the sugar until dissolved, add the vanilla extract, chill it for a few hours,
and then churn it. I think I skipped the chill step, and just mixed, churned,
and froze it. My thought process was: I just pulled it out of the fridge, it is
already chilled, why would I stick it back…? But I assume that by mixing it, the
ingredients became “de-chilled.” I have a feeling that chilling it is a factor
if you want to eat it right away after churning. But for me, I’m happy to let it
firm up in the freezer for a few hours before I dig in.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 18, 2011 in Cheats

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
